Four party chairs in Marin’s government. From left: Li Andersson (the Left Alliance), Katri Kulmuni (the Centre Party), Sanna Marin (the SDP) and Mari Ohisalo (the Green League). Anna-Maja Henriksson (the SPP) is missing from the picture. The party leaders are posing at the Government Palace on December 10, 2019. Picture: Tony Öhberg for Finland Today

Sanna Marin, 34, (the SDP) is the new Prime Minister of Finland. She was elected in the parliament’s plenary session by votes 99-70 on Tuesday afternoon.

Following the election, the new government assembled at the presidential session at the Government Palace where President Sauli Niinistö formally appointed the prime minister and other ministers in the government.

The political parties in Marin’s government include the SDP, the Centre Party, the Left Alliance, the Green League and the Swedish People’s Party.

Then the newly appointed government gathered into a constitutive session where the ministers took an oath of office.

Prime Minister Sanna Marin before the constitutive session at the Government Palace. Marin assured the media later that trust will be recreated inside the government. The former government resigned last Tuesday after serving for 188 days. Picture: Tony Öhberg for Finland Today

Later the new government visited the Presidential Palace for a complimentary visit. After the ceremonies, the new government gathered for a press conference where they briefly highlighted their agenda. “All government parties agree on the current government program,” Marin said.

“We want to build a society that is socially, economically and environmentally sustainable. We want to strengthen equality, education and skills,” Marin said.

Marin also said that she has been “glad to see the international attention toward Finland.” This is our opportunity to tell who we Finns are and what kind of country Finland is.”

Tony Öhberg