Restaurants stay closed in many areas until April 18. Photograph: Tony Öhberg/Finland Today

On Monday, the government allowed restaurants to open for business in Åland, South Ostrobothnia and Lapland except for the municipality of Kittilä. In contrast, restaurants in North Savo and North Karelia must be closed to customers beginning on March 29.

In these other areas restaurants must stay closed until April 18 to slow down the escalating coronavirus pandemic:

1) Uusimaa

2) Southwest Finland

3) Satakunta

4) Kanta-Häme

5) Pirkanmaa

6) Päijät-Häme

7) Kymenlaakso

8) South Karelia

9) South Savo

10) North Savo

11) North Karelia

12) Central Finland

13) Ostrobothnia

14) North Ostrobothnia

15) Kittilä

Restaurants are still allowed to sell food for takeaway or delivery.