Minister of Transport and Communications Timo Harakka (the SDP) and Interior Minister Maria Ohisalo (the Green League) briefing the media about the new border restrictions on Wednesday morning, August 19, 2020. Photograph: Lauri Heikkinen/The Finnish government

The Finnish government has decided to reinstate internal border control for traffic between Finland and Iceland, Greece, Malta, Germany, Norway and Denmark, the government decided in their meeting that extended over midnight on Tuesday.

Restrictions on external border traffic will be reinstated for traffic arriving in Finland from Ireland, Cyprus, San Marino and for citizens of Japan in traffic between Japan and Finland.

On August 15, (the day of the assessment) there are fewer than 10 new cases of the disease per 100,000 people in the previous 14 days in Italy, Lithuania, Slovakia and Estonia so the internal borders stay open for those. (10 new cases of the disease per 100,000 people required to reinstate entry restrictions on internal borders.)

In addition, the traffic at the land borders between Finland and Sweden and Finland and Norway will be allowed between local communities near the border.

The new restrictions will become effective on Monday, August 24.


  • The founder. Always looking for opportunities to tell another story. Contact: / Tel. +358(0)92316 3820