On Thursday, the government decided to extend the restrictions on entry into the country until May 25, 2021.

Photograph: Vilmos Vincze/Flickr

“We do not yet have adequate measures available to replace the restrictions. For this reason, and to curb the spread of Covid-19 variants, both internal border controls and restrictions on external border traffic will continue,” the government noted in a statement.

 The decisions will enter into force on April 26.

In addition to the restrictions on internal and external border traffic, restrictions on the opening hours of certain border crossing points at the western border in Lapland and the eastern border will continue. At the border crossing points that are open to passenger traffic, the accepted criteria for entry are the return of persons living in Finland or another EU or Schengen country and other essential reasons.

Finland restricts entry from all other Schengen countries except Iceland

Internal border traffic refers to traffic between Finland and other Schengen countries. Finland continues to restrict entry from all other Schengen countries except Iceland. The Schengen countries are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden, which are the EU Member States, as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, which are non-EU countries.

Restrictions on external border traffic to continue without changes

External border traffic refers to traffic between Finland and non-Schengen third countries. Restrictions have already been lifted earlier for traffic arriving in Finland from the Vatican, and for traffic between Finland and Australia, South Korea, Singapore, Rwanda, Thailand and New Zealand for residents of these countries. Entry from these low-risk countries is not restricted due to the low incidence of Covid-19.

Read also:  Finnair to Accept Coronavirus Vaccination Certificate as Alternative to Negative Test Result

For other countries, the restrictions on entry will be extended until May 25, 2021.

Cruise vessels are permitted to call at ports but passengers are not allowed to come ashore.

Government still recommends avoiding unnecessary travel abroad

Under the Constitution of Finland, Finnish citizens and residents of Finland always have the right to return to Finland, and everyone has the right to leave Finland if they so wish, provided that there is no legal impediment to this. However, the government still recommends avoiding unnecessary travel to other countries, except for countries for which the restrictions on entry have been lifted. Travelers must be aware of the current entry and quarantine regulations of their country of destination.